As you may be aware, the Islamic calendar, called the Hijra calendar (based on the year of migration of the Muslims from Makkah to Madina) is a lunar-based calendar. As such, the Islamic year is about 354 days long, so the Islamic dates move through the seasons, completing the cycle in 34 years.

Each month officially starts with the sighting of the new crescent moon. With advances in astronomy, we are able to calculate those days but when it comes to official events and holidays such as Ramadan and Eid-ul-Fitr, etc., many communities and Muslim states rely upon the actual sighting, so the dates listed here may not coincide with the actual day the events are celebrated.


Hijri Date

Gregorian Date

Start of Ramadan Ramadan 1 September 1, 2008
Laylat Al-Qadr Ramadan 27 September 27, 2008
Eid-Ul-Fitr Shawwal 1 October 1, 2008
Beginning of Hajj Thul Hijjah 8 December 6, 2008
Day of ‘Arafa Thul Hijjah 9 December 7, 2008
Eid-ul-Adha Thul Hijjah 10 December 8, 2008
Islamic New Year (1430) Muharram 1 December 29, 2008
Ashura Muharram 1 January 7, 2009
Start of Ramadan Ramadan 1 August, 2009
Laylat Al-Qadr Ramadan 27 August, 2009
Eid-Ul-Fitr Shawwal 1 September, 2009