Halal Shopper's Guide

             Download 

- HALAL SHOPPER'S GUIDE (518 KB)

This guide is intended to help halal consumers select acceptable food products in the supermarket. Products contain many ingredients in varying quantities, including trace amounts of haram or questionable ingredients. This list includes some of the more common ingredients that must be avoided or investigated before consumption. It is not a comprehensive list. In the listing, IFANCA has categorized ingredients as either one of the following: 

HARAM / AVOID: These are unquestionably haram and are found in large percentages within a product. Examples are lard, which is 100% pork fat, or gin, which is hard liquor (alcoholic beverage). Muslims should not consider buying these products. 

INVESTIGATE FURTHER: These components of food or pharmaceuticals are used in small quantities and can contain subcomponents that mainly come from haram animals, alcohol, or halal animals slaughtered by non-Muslims. An example is whey, a dairy product, which is the liquid left after making cheese. The cheese may be made with enzymes from pork, calf, goat or microorganisms. Muslims are required to eat pure (halal) foods. With the complexity of food manufacturing, it is difficult for the Muslim consumer to determine the appropriateness of many food products. We hope this guide will serve as a handy and easy way to verify the acceptability of food products. For more information, please 
contact IFANCA or contact the manufacturer of the food product to find the source of the ingredients. Of course, there is no substitute for authentic, certified halal products.


HARAM / AVOID

Animal Shortening 
Bacon 
Bacon bits 
Gelatin 
Ham 
Hydrolyzed animal protein 
Hydrolyzed porcine collagen 
Lard 
Pork 
Shortening

Beer 
Gin 
Malt liquor 
Rum 
Scotch 
Vodka 
Whiskey 
Wine 
Wine coolers



INVESTIGATE FURTHER (Some Questionable Ingredients)
Artificial & natural colorings 
Artificial & natural flavorings 
Calcium stearoyl lactylate 
Enzymes 
Fatty acids 
Glycerin 
Glycerol stearate 
Gum base 
Hydrolyzed bovine collagen 
Lactylated fatty acid esters 
Magnesium stearate 
Mono & Di-glycerides
Phospholipids 
Polysorbates 
Potassium stearate 
Propylene glycol monostearate 
Sodium lauryl sulfate 
Sodium stearate 
Sorbitan monostearate 
Stearic acid 
Stearoyl lactylate 
Tallow 
Whey
E-304 
E-322 
E-422 
E-431 
E-432 
E-433 
E-434 
E-435 
E-436
E-442 
E-445 
E-470a 
E-470b 
E-471 
E-472a 
E-472b 
E-472c 
E-472d
E-472e 
E-472f 
E-473 
E-474 
E-475 
E-476 
E-477 
E-479 
E-481
E-482 
E-483 
E-491 
E-492 
E-493 
E-494 
E-495 
E-570

Concerns About Eating Out

  1. Source of meat and poultry.
  2. Use of haram/questionable ingredients.
  3. Use of common grills/ovens for pork and other products.
  4. Use and presence of alcohol within the establishment.
  5. Contamination by servers/cooks touching haram and halal foods.

 

Other info

  • Eggs/pancakes cooked on same grill as bacon.
  • Beef/fish grilled on same grill as pork.
  • Soup containing meat or meat broth.
  • Steaks wrapped with bacon.

  Always ask for halal certified products.